phone-white-web 066-915 0530 || email-white-web



Castlegregory GAA Club 1889- 2014.

Written by 

Castlegregory GAA Club 125th Anniversary celebration took place on Sunday 28th December. A commemorative game was played in Páirc An Caisleán

between the current senior team and a team picked from all those from the club who have worn the Kerry Jersey. Proceedings got under way with club secretary Patrick Moriarty welcoming the large crowd who turned up to honour the occasion, the field which was well prepared looked fantastic in the winter sunshine. The National anthem was sung by local girl Anna Maunsell and a minutes silence was observed in memory of the late John Joe Brown of Fahamore before referee Tim Dennehy threw in the ball. Spectators were treated to a very competitive and entertaining game, both sides took a while to settle until Maurice Slattery got Castle of the mark with two long range points, Alan Fitzgerald opened for "Kerry" , Liam Maunsell and Colm O’ Connor both added points , Alan Lynch narrowed the lead again but the on form Maurice Slattery cut through the defence and finished with a shot to the back of the net. "Kerry" responded with points from Shane Hennessy and Siobhan Cushen, Alan Mcnamara and Alan Fitzerald exchanged points to leave the half time score at Castle 1-05, "Kerry" 0-05.

 After some stiff half time words from their respective managers, Ger O’ Callaghan and Jack Dowling, the teams got straight back into the action,  Alan Lynch scored an early point and was threatening for goal before being pulled down in the Castle square , referee Tim Dennehy did not hesitate in his decision and Alan Fitzgerald from the penalty spot put "Kerry" ahead for the first time in the game, Liam Maunsell levelled again for Castle, the remainder of the game was very closely contested with the advantage swinging back and forth to either team , Maurice James Fitzgerald, Adam O Donnell, Michael Mullally, and JB Spillane all got their names on the score sheet , Alan Lynch was denied a second goal chance by an excellent Eoin O Shea save , Alan Fitzgerald snatched a late equaliser before the final whistle - Castle 1-11, "Kerry" 1-11.

 Teams- Castle - Shane Kenny, Timmy Walsh, Nicholas Fitzerald, John Joe Hussey, Colm Sills, Enda Whealan, Joe O Connor, Adam O Donnell, Timmothy Moriarty, Maurice Slattery , Maurice James Fitzgerald, Colm O Connor, Alan McNamara, Liam Maunsell, Brandon Hoare, Eoin O Shea, John Fitzgerald, Michael Mullally, Ger O Callaghan, Niall O Mahony. Managers Ger O Callaghan and John Joe O Connor.

 "Kerry"- David O Dowd, Pierse Ferriter, Gearoid Fitzgerald, Killian Burns, Sean O Mahony, Stephen Brown, Gavin O Connor, Micheál O Shea, David Heaseman, Joe Scully, Alan Fitzgerald, J.B, Spillane, Brendan Lynch, Siobhan Cushen, Shane Hennessy, Siobhan Goodwin, Patrick Lynch, Kevin Maunsell. Managers Jack Dowling, Mossie Spillane.

 The after match function was held in the clubrooms where refreshments were served and a large number of historical club photographs were on display. Once again M.C. Patrick Moriarty welcomed everyone, special guests Kerry county board Chairman Patrick O Sullivan , West Kerry Board Chairman Muiris Fenton, Castlegregory Chairman Pierce Ferriter and Pat O’ Shea grandson of Pat "Aeroplane O Shea" all addressed the packed hall. All congratulated the club and praised those who had played, and those who had been involved at all levels within the club over the last 125 years. All those from the club who have worn the Kerry Jersey and those who had played in the game received medals which were presented by Patrick O Sullivan. The O’ Shea family were presented with a plaque to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Pat "Aeroplane" O Shea winning his 2nd All Ireland Medal. Ger O’ Callaghan,  John Joe O Connor, Jack Dowling and Mossie Spillane received medals for managing the teams. Senior Club Sponsors John Vincent Hilliard, and Maurice Fitzgerald were presented with plaques in appreciation of their support. Alan Fitzgerald and Mícheál O’ Shea were both honoured for their achievements with the Kerry senior and Minor teams in 2014. Overall this was a great day in the history of the Castle Club and there are many people who contributed their time and effort to ensuring that it was a success . We would like to thank the following - all those who attended the event , including the players , some of whom travelled from abroad to be there. Thanks to Patrick O Sullivan, Muiris Fenton and Pat O’ Shea for attending. Thanks to the following - Tim Dennehy,  Ross Spillane, Maurice Spillane, Sean Spillane, Tom Spillane , Seamus Rafter, and Patrick O Neill for officiating at the game. Andrew Quirke for producing the commemorative booklet and also for sound system, Dermot Lynch , Edward Hennessy, Billy Sheehan, and Tara Cronin for selling booklets and calendars, Joe Wren for historical records and photographs, Michael Ferriter who contributed to the booklet, Tom Ferriter for the scoreboard , John O Connor for designing plaques, John Joe O’ Connor for field preparation, Anna Maunsell for National Anthem, Ann O Connor, Kathleen Hennessy, Michelle and Leona Spillane, Tara Cronin, Mary Moriarty, Mary and Mellissa Ciepierski, and Patricia Goodwin for preparing and serving food, Courtney's Bakery Dingle for sponsoring cake, Thomas Flaherty for providing car parking, and Patrick O’ Shea who took charge of traffic management. The community council and Catherine Lyons for clubrooms. A special mention has to be given to club Secretary Patrick Moriarty who put in a tremendous amount of work behind the scenes over the last number of months preparing for this day.

Read 4836 times

Add your Classified Ad

Accommodation or Business